Listening to:  Wyclef Jean
http://youtu.be/f9TW-yt4snQ

Reading:  Jesus for President

Writing about: leadership, my kids, power, American Idol

A few days ago it was just Joey (my 3 year old son) and I sitting around the house.  I asked him if he wanted to come with me to vote, I told him we could choose who would lead our state.
He replied “Me”

imageedit_7_7500236887
Yes We Candy

Joey spent the rest of the day asking me “who was going to be on stage”
I had no idea what he meant, that’s no big deal…when you have 4 kids who are  5 years old and under you can expect to hear a lot of things you don’t understand.

…it turns out he was thinking about voting again.
He wanted to know…if we voted for him, would he be singing on stage.

(I feel like it is important for you to know that we don’t watch American Idol, ever. It’s not on Netflix.)

Ok…here is the turnaround:

I was trying to make a decision about leadership,
Joey was thinking about who would get the spotlight.
Leaders = people on stage  (kid logic)

I have spent a good deal of my career standing on stage, I have been under a spotlight.
One thing I know, from my experience as a minister:
There is no power in the microphone, or good stage presence, or shiny jackets.
Power doesn’t come from the stage to the people.
There is power in God’s Spirit who calls each of us to use our gifts for the Kingdom.

leap me
Are you ready for a miracle?

Case in point:
When a ministry area is in need of volunteers people inevitably ask “why don’t we just have the preachers ask people to help in a sermon”  or   “why don’t we make a video about it and show it at church”

There are a myriad of reasons that perfectly reasonable response is not effective….
not the least of which is that we have no power to get people to do anything.
We who try and build church structures  are totally and completely reliant on you, the people.

Churches accomplish what God has called us to when we (collectively)
take the power God has given us
and act.

The church moves when everyone acts..
using their gifts, doing their part.

On stage, we are the men and women behind the curtain.
You had your heart the whole time.

 

