Listening to: 

Reading: One of those little graphics with text from my Facebook feed

Writing about:  Super Clusters, Deep Water, anxiety, and control

A few weeks ago a story broke about our galaxy being in a “Supercluster” with thousands of other galaxies:

http://www.cnet.com/news/earths-address-within-a-massive-supercluster-of-100000-galaxies/

For the sake of clarity it goes:  Planet– Solar System– Galaxy (thanks Google!).
Someone made a sci-fi looking computer model of what a supercluster of galaxies may look like
(Our Galaxy is the red dot):

supercluster

A few months ago, every news outlet was relentlessly covering the patch of sea where the lost Malaysian airplane went down.  Someone at that time created this info graphic:

http://apps.washingtonpost.com/g/page/world/the-depth-of-the-problem/931/

Both of those images give me anxiety.
I don’t even like to look at the underwater one, but I just have to keep scrolling down.  Terrifying!

The scale of creation puts me in my place,
It’s not a very big place.

I don’t like that.
I like control.
I like things I can observe, count, and quantify. With no help. On my fingers.
I like plans that I make, and I execute.

When I hear big picture statistics about all the things in the world that are broken, they are more likely to spur me to overwhelmed inaction than passionate activism.

The scope of time and space make me feel powerless.
The depth of the world’s brokenness is overwhelming.

I want to make a difference in the world I live in.
I believe God calls each of us:
To love God and neighbor.

to act justly, love mercy, and walk humbly.
To love our enemies.
To not return evil for evil.
To take an active role in God’s plan to redeem the world that was created good and right, but is broken.

I saw one of those little “inspirational quote” tiles on my Facebook feed the other day.
I typically roll my eyes at these, unless of course you posted it (I love the ones you post)

Call it trite if you will, but this thing helped me get a sense of perspective, from my tiny place.

Start, Use, Do

